Curious Mother

Portobello Mushroom Sandwhich

 

PortobelloMushroomSandwhich_sm_2414

This is a simple meal for lunch, or dinner! For easter Sunday we made a bunch of food, but my favorite were the portobello mushrooms my younger brother, who is a chef, prepared for the vegans in the family. I have no idea what he did, but he inspired me to make this for lunch. I served this with a side of my mom’s Tabbouleh. I will post the recipe for that soon!

Ingredients:
2 slices of your favorite Gluten Free Bread
Portobello Mushroom, whole or sliced
Coconut Oil
Sweet Onion
Vegan Worcestershire Sauce
Sliced Heirloom Tomato
Dark Leafy Greens
Yellow Mustard
Black Pepper to taste

Directions:
1.  Slice the onion, use how every much you prefer
2. Prepare the Mushroom, I rinse and spoon out the gills. I pat dry, then lightly
spread about 1/4 tsp of coconut oil on the mushroom with my fingers, more if it
is a large mushroom.
3. Place mushrooms and onions in a bowl, add about 1/2 – 1 tsp of worcestershire
sauce, (per mushroom). Depending on how big, you may want to add more, don’t
be shy! I just eyeball it.
4. Grill mushrooms and onions on med-high heat till everything is soft and
browned nicely. How long really depends on the size of the mushroom, if it’s
large add the onions half way through so they don’t burn. Be sure to flip the
mushroom, I typically do it every 3-4 minutes. The mushroom will
shrink quite a bit.
5.   Make a sandwich! Slightly toast your bread, add your sliced tomato, dark leafy
greens, and mustard, (I haven’t tried the vegan mayo with this). If you don’t like
mustard or vegan mayo, add olive oil, or vegan butter to the bread.
6. Serve with tabbouleh, or a salad and enjoy!

This entry was published on April 2, 2013 at 12:34 am. It’s filed under Dinner, Gluten Free, Lunch, Soy Free, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

